All In London Logo
Home > Directory > Hairdressers - Unisex > Burlingtons

Burlingtons

John Prince's Street, London


Burlingtons, exterior picture

Ads by Google



Burlingtons
6/10 from 16 user reviews
We are an All In London Recommended Business
User Recommendations
6 users have recommended this business
ADDRESS:14 John Prince's Street, Marylebone
London, W1G 0JR

MAP:See Burlingtons on a map

REGION:Marylebone

NEAREST STATION:Oxford Circus

TELEPHONE: 087 0870 1299

BUSINESS TYPE:Hairdressers - Unisex

Opening Hours:Mon: 08:00 - 20:00
Tue: 08:00 - 20:00
Wed: 08:00 - 20:00
Thu: 08:00 - 20:00
Fri: 08:00 - 20:00
Sat: 08:00 - 18:00
Sun: 08:00 - 18:00

Email:Send an email



About: Here at Burlingtons Boutique we offer our clients much more than just a cut and blow-dry and are renowned for our all-round professional styling.

Within our Central London salon you’ll also find a fully functional makeover and photographic studio- where we transform hundreds of people every month. Some of our clients are visiting us simply to have their hair cut, coloured or styled, whilst others are having their hair transformed and make-up applied for their photo shoot. As a result, the salon is bursting with energy and there’s a vigorous vibe that we believe makes us unique.

We are style experts, our expertise doesn’t just stop at hairdressing, within the Salon you'll also find experienced make-up artists. Whilst we are obviously well-equipped to cut, colour and style hair, our clients love the fact that they can also get some handy tips on what colours suit their skin tone and hair colour too.

Our hairdressing is all about creating a total look that works for the individual. We believe there’s little point in having a stunning haircut that you can’t create at home, doesn’t work with your lifestyle and really does not fit your personality.

Our young dynamic team are most definitely aware of what’s happening on the catwalks, and naturally we know all about street style, but we’re also experts in giving everyday men and women a hairstyle that works for them – because after all, some of us want to be trend setters, some of want to be trend followers and some of us like to be classically unique! Whatever your style, we’ll help you define it.


More on All In London

The Most Popular Hairdressers - Unisex
See the busiest businesses




Questions




The Latest User Reviews of Burlingtons

User Rating: 5 / 10
OC
London
Added: Nov 2014

Went for a voucher makeover, bought from Argos.

Hairdresser did an amazing job, very chatty, so was the receptionist and make up girl. Photographer very nice too
BUT

I had had a great day..The 'viewer' who was the one in charge was very inappropriate saying some of my pictures were 'sexy'

But what annoyed me most of all, was his arrogant non stop pressuring to buy the photos! For EXTORTIONATE prices. Then claiming the deal he'd offered was just for me. Well if you can discount the pictures that much for a 'one off' then why charge so much in the first place! almost spoiled th


Added on Sun 16 Nov 2014 at 20:29:15
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 4 / 10
Leah
Essex
Added: Nov 2014

i have makeup, hair and a photo shoot. The makeup I really liked, however my hair I couldnt say the same. The cut was fine, but the style was horrible. It really was. The photographer I also found extremely pushy and rude and patronising. He also told the hair stylist I didn't like it, and as I walked out of my photo shoot, I did actually over hear staff talking about me and one member said "her walking out now". I felt very uncomfortable in the place and o really wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Although I will say, my photos did come out really nice, but never ever again.


Added on Sun 16 Nov 2014 at 11:21:11
[report this][respond]


The star rating for the review has been removed and discounted due to an official response being added.


Charlotte Glass
United Kingdom
Added: Jun 2014

Make-up artists were very very rude! When pushed to buy the make up I said I couldn't afford it (I am student after all), snubbed both my friend and I. Later when asked what product I used on my hair, she made snarky comments about the fact I could afford Moroccan Oil (actually a gift) and not this make up... All topped off by at the end saying, she was heavily pregnant I may add, "Look at what me and my baby have done for you".

In addition to the fact I have spent the last month trying to get my deposit back? TERRIBLE.


This comment has an official response:

Dear Charlotte,

Firstly, I would like to sincerely apologise on behalf of Burlingtons Boutique for the difficulties that you have talked about in your review and the length of time it has taken us to respond. We have a small marketing team and it was only very recently reviews posted here have been brought to our attention.

I would like to work with you and resolve this as soon as possible. Please contact me on: 0121 634 6616 or email shane@burlingtonsboutique.com.

Once again, our apologies for the time it has taken to reply to you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.


From: Shane
Position: Manager



Added on Fri 27 Jun 2014 at 09:58:06
[report this][respond]


The star rating for the review has been removed and discounted due to an official response being added.


Nikki
London
Added: Jun 2014

I agree with Kay, don't expect your deposit back. In fact just don't go. The photo prices made what could have been a nice morning into an awful experience, as did the pressure sales. We went with a voucher which included a free print, and we are yet to receive this print. On top of that, I've had no response to any of my complaints since. Don't waste your time and money.


This comment has an official response:

Dear Nikki,

Once again, I would like to sincerely apologise on behalf of Burlingtons Boutique for the difficulties that you have talked about in your review and the length of time it has taken us to respond.

There is no reason whatsoever that you should a) be waiting for your deposit to be returned b) to feel that you will never get your money back. You should not have been victim of any form of high pressure sales as we operate an operational policy that forbids it so I would like to talk to you more about this to see if there is anything we can do to help.

Please contact me on: 0121 634 6616 or email shane@burlingtonsboutique.com.

Once again, I am sorry the time it has taken to reply to you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.


From: Shane
Position: Manager



Added on Tue 03 Jun 2014 at 20:10:34
[report this][respond]


The star rating for the review has been removed and discounted due to an official response being added.


Lisa
London
Added: May 2014

Asked for some natural looking t-zone highlights on for my blonde hair, ended up with bleached stripes that look ridiculous.

The haircut itself was fine and the hairdresser very friendly. The place itself isn't very clean though, hair all over the floor.

Not worth the price at all.


This comment has an official response:

Dear Lisa,

Again, I would like to sincerely apologise on behalf of Burlingtons Boutique for the difficulties that you have talked about in your review and the length of time it has taken us to respond.

We are also sorry that you didn't receive the service that you expected and that your t-section highlights were not up to the standard it should have been. During the time you visited, the salon was in the process of undergoing some major changes in staff, training and management. We also changed our colour house from Goldwell to Wella and we are sorry that these changes have affected you.

We would like to offer you a complementary treatment to make up for this issue in the hope that you will be able to see the improvements we have been making and that we are not the salon we have be portrayed to be.

Please contact me on: 0121 634 6616 or email shane@burlingtonsboutique.com.

Once again, our apologies for the time it has taken to reply to you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.


From: Shane
Position: Manager



Added on Thu 22 May 2014 at 14:21:49
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 10 / 10
MAXINE
LONDON
Added: Apr 2014
All In London User Recommended Business

Had a full make over at Burlingtons Boutique - the staff were amazing. I have never felt so good about my self - the photos weren’t cheap but they were worth it as I will cherish the photos for ever. Ignore these reviews below they are crazy - I have just bought another package for me and my mum to go.
Thank you so much Burlingtons for the day!!!!


Added on Thu 24 Apr 2014 at 15:33:48
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 10 / 10
Liza
Hampton, Middlesex
Added: Apr 2014
All In London User Recommended Business

I can not believe the bad reviews that I have read,what a lot of rubbish and lies .

I was treat in a very professional way , over and above the mere £36.00 that I paid on the recent Groupon Offer.

If I could post a photo of the 'Finished product' I would.
Lovely New Wella Colors were used,my hair was washed to perfection, Octavia cut my hair just as it needed and she also dried and styled it so well.
I gave nice big tips and in return was offered further discounts on my next 3 visits.I most certainly will be going back ,I was well treated and pampered in a lovely salon by it's gre


Added on Wed 02 Apr 2014 at 12:44:45
[report this][respond]


The star rating for the review has been removed and discounted due to an official response being added.


a O'DWYER
United Kingdom
Added: Mar 2014

They can be clear in what they offer- so if i am asked to sign that I am ok with the tint they use being from Wella- it should be from Wella- in my case it was not and I have had a very bad reaction. If they offer a deal they should not try to charge more later- as they tried with me. This does not seem a very professional salon to me
I wont go back and avise others not to- you have to be fairly firm to get what you want. They didnt get my colour right either- so a bad experience all round


This comment has an official response:

Dear a O'DWYER,

We are sorry that you had a bad experience with us and had a reaction to the Colour treatment you used. Around the time you visited we were in the process of re-training all our staff on the new Wella Colour system but may have still been using Goldwell for certain treatments.

Also, we always recommend that all our customers complete a Skin allergy test prior to completing colour treatments to minimise the risk of a reaction and It's always worth remembering that we will ALWAYS offer corrective treatments free of charge. If you don't like it, we will fix it on the house!!

We would like you to try us again in the future as there have been some dramatic improvements since you last visited including a change in management so please feel free to contact me as we can offer a complementary treatment for you to try.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind regards,

Shane (Manager)


From: Shane
Position: Manager



Added on Sun 30 Mar 2014 at 17:51:44
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 3 / 10
S
London
Added: Mar 2014

I was disappointed after my visit to this salon. I bought a voucher online worth £24 for a £73 wash/cut & conditioning treatment. I was in & out within 30 mins. i thought a £73 hair cut might mean a little service & a drink & the usual salon "chat" but the woman seemed to think that because i wasn't paying full wack that i wasn't worth the time that all the other hairdressers were giving to their clients. Had it been a good experience i would have gone again as the cut was what i asked for but i walked out of the salon with my head tucked into my coat instead of my hair flowing in the bree


Added on Wed 26 Mar 2014 at 09:33:20
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 3 / 10
Kay.
Stratford.
Added: Mar 2014

Stop PRESSURISING customers to buy your products, let the products speak for themselves. Dont force customers to buy photos, Ur work should be enough to do that. Would not recommend this place to anyone. SORRY felt very pressured and Burlingtons made sure I went home without my Deposit.


Added on Fri 07 Mar 2014 at 16:56:24
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 2 / 10
Rebecca
London
Added: Jan 2014

Don't go here!!!! I arrived on time + was made to wait for ages. I showed her a picture she kept saying how short it was-I began to doubt her ability.She asked if she could shave the back of my head because it would be quicker and easier. I left with an awful haircut that was all different lengths and not finished off properly. when i complained she gave me vouchers, but I will never go back there it was really disappointing. they obviously make money from passers by and the makeovers, they always have people out on the street trying to persuade people to go in. It's awefull!!


Added on Mon 27 Jan 2014 at 20:07:43
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
Jo
London
Added: Jan 2014
All In London User Recommended Business

I had my hair cut at Burlingtons this morning and had a great hair cut! The lady that cut my hair was absolutely lovely, her name was Samantha, she had blue hair and a shaved side and as I have pink hair and a shaved side I thought this was awesome :-) She was really chatty and gave me a really lovely hair cut that made my hair look a lot thicker than it is (my hair is very thin), she said I should shave my side a lot shorter, so I told her to go for it and I love it! The place is nicely decorated, the hairdressers are friendly and I got a great haircut, I would definitely recommend :-)


Added on Thu 23 Jan 2014 at 13:21:47
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 1 / 10
Annabelle
Woking
Added: Jan 2014

I came here for a 'FREE' makeover & photoshoot with my friend we had won. We had our makeup done (stylist admitted she wasnt even trained) & they tried to pressure us into buying the makeup they had used on us - and they would not give in. One girl told my friend she had problematic skin & a big forehead so she should buy the makeup! After we refused, everyone was rude (because we didnt pay hundreds of pounds for makeup), photoshoot was a complete joke (i thought it was a prank) & photos were horrendous. I take better ones on a night out. Very dissapointing.


Added on Fri 17 Jan 2014 at 23:14:26
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 1 / 10
cb
london
Added: Dec 2013

Really upset with my visit to Burlingtons. I had a great cut there but the colouring service is dire. I'm a professional and now I'm faced with hair that looks like its been done at home by a teenager - A block of yellow hair when it was supposed to be some subtle ash blonde highlights.

If you do get colour done there ask about all the cost upfront and confirm at the start whether they will be charging for a full or half head. I was booked in for a half head but at the end they charged me for full. Had I not be in absolute shock at the state of my hair I would have argued!


Added on Wed 18 Dec 2013 at 08:30:45
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 2 / 10
Olivia
London
Added: Dec 2013

I was disappointed with my visit. At my arrival, the receptionist sat me down and in front of me asked the nearest stylist whether she wanted this appointment. She replied "no", which I considered very unprofessional. I only stayed because I already paid for it. The stylist seemed uninterested and bored. He was pulling my hair when brushing, going right through my face few times without saying a word. Nearly burnt my scalp while blow drying. For the first time I didn't leave the tip, but nobody in the salon deserved one, and I would not go back.


Added on Mon 16 Dec 2013 at 22:45:31
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 8 / 10
new in London
London
Added: Nov 2013
All In London User Recommended Business

After purchasing an offer for highlights,cut and blow dry I read some very mixed reviews which did make me nervous.
I arrived early and enjoined the experience from the very beginning. Offered tea, coffee or wine several times.
I was very lucky to have a very experienced hairdresser who was great and made my hair look amazing!
I do have to point out though I did hear some other staff joke with each other and use inappropriate banter. Definitely depends on who you get... I was lucky I guess!


Added on Tue 19 Nov 2013 at 14:17:11
[report this][respond]


The star rating for the review has been removed and discounted due to an official response being added.


Mrs Johnson
Newbie
Member since: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
View Profile

Definitely below what I expected. The salon is clean and looks good. The service below the average-my haircut was less than 5 min and the hairdresser was constantly trying to talk me into having extra treatments. The blow dry was pretty good hence the three stars. However, she pulled my hair too much. They offer tea coffee which is nice but it's not what you go to the hairdresser for as a main reason. I heard a couple of staff swear jokingly at each other-it should be a no no in a place like this. I will not go again.


This comment has an official response:

Dear Mrs Johnson,

I am very pleased to hear that you liked our salon. We do continually work really hard to ensure things are as clean as possible. We would like to express our sincere apologies if you were subjected to swearing by any of our staff, in a jokey manner or otherwise.

At the time you visited, the salon was going through a change in management and a small minority of our staff "tested the water" so to speak and no longer work for us. I can categorically inform you that this behaviour is not and will never be tolerated in our salon and we now offer a pleasant experience to all our customers.

We would like you to try us again in the future and if you would ever like to make an appointment, please contact me on: 0121 634 6616 as I may be able to offer a complementary service for you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind regards, Shane


From: Shane
Position: Manager



Added on Wed 30 Oct 2013 at 17:09:03
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
Sally Stephenson
King's Lynn
Added: Oct 2013
All In London User Recommended Business

I purchased a voucher on the street for a Deluxe Makeover for two. I then read the reviews and was concerned!
However our visit was brilliant - very friendly staff, made us look fantastic and put us at ease during the photoshoot.
We were all prepared for the hard sell but the guy who showed us the photos was really helpful and tried to find us a package to suit our budget. Very realistic - he suggested CD so that we could go across to Boots to get them printed! We DID spend more than we had expected but we didn't feel pressured into it and we only did so because we LOVED the photos.


Added on Thu 03 Oct 2013 at 12:36:36
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
Jessica
London
Added: Aug 2013
All In London User Recommended Business

I bought a 12 month "membership" off a guy on the street and so was a bit skeptical. But I got an appointment straight away at the Oxford Street salon. At 5:00 I was greeted and offered a cold drink, was seen by a senior stylist, who then consulted with me carefully, washed my hair himself, then gave a lovely cut and blow dry (with rollers!). I was out at 6:00 - all for £36!

Very pleased with the cut and made an appointment for a color. Never had such fast service in a hair salon in my life. Haircuts don't have to be expensive and take hours - who knew?


Added on Thu 22 Aug 2013 at 16:02:29
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 5 / 10
Janet
St Paul's
Added: Jul 2013

Had my photo shoot in March 2013 and still waiting for my photo's. I paid by debit card so not covered under the credit card refund. The hair, make up and photo shoot were lovely but wouldn't reccomend purely for the pressure after to purchase and then the non delivery of the goods. ideal and cheap if you want a make over for a night out but don't buy any photo's


Added on Tue 02 Jul 2013 at 08:50:41
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
charlotte
london
Added: Apr 2013

I visited Burlington's yesterday for a 1 hour glam and go make over. The store has a nice feel to it, and the lady who did my hair was very chatty and polite. she did a lovely job on my hair, although would have preferred tighter curls. I had my make up done by another friendly lady, she did my make up beautifully, although i did have to go home and touch up mascara as it was a bit too minimal for my liking. overall, i had a great experience and would definitely go back there again.


Added on Fri 12 Apr 2013 at 14:06:55
[report this][respond]


User Reviews







Disclaimer & Updates

Please check with Burlingtons before visiting, if you know the details are incorrect please tell us using the links below.

Update
Name, address, telephone, category, nearest station
Add more information
Description, opening hours, pictures, offers, events