Sun 20th Apr
Home > Restaurants Home > Little Bay Restaurant > User Review

Little Bay Restaurant Reviews

228 Belsize Road, London


Telephone
020 7372 4699
Address
228 Belsize Road
London
NW6 4BT




The All In London Review

"The cheapest gourmet meal in London"

All In London Rating: 8 / 10
Added Mon 10 Oct 2011 - Reviewed by Leila


If you saw a plate of moules marinière on a menu for £2.25, would you be suspicious? What about a chargrilled lamb steak for £5.25? It’s going to be rubbish isn’t it? Sinewy, chewy, made with the cheapest cut of meat and slopped on a plate. Well, you’d be mistaken, for despite Little Bay’s knicker-dropping prices their food is almost entirely delicious. Almost, because the pieces of chicken breast in the halloumi salad are a tad on the dry side, and the cutlery on the table is a little bit greasy, but when dinner is only £7.75 before 7 pm and the first course consists of two juicy pig’s cheeks with creamy mashed potato and a rasher of smoky bacon with madeira sauce, how can one complain? Other great dishes are two baked Portobello mushrooms smothered in a sweet, red pepper hummus, and place fillets with a mound of garlicky spinach and crab meat dumped atop them, served with ribbons of cucumber billed as “spaghetti”. Portions are huge, and just in case the chicken salad isn’t filling enough it comes with a side of Soviet-style boiled potato, carrots and cabbage. The desserts are equally scrumptious – a pistachio and white chocolate parfait oozes sinfulness. It’s no wonder this minuscule Kilburn eatery is full, and to make use of space the four corners of the room have steps leading up to individual tables, a little like royal boxes at the theatre.

There are other branches of Little Bay in Farringdon, Battersea, Croydon and Brighton, all owned by the enterprising Peter Ilic, also responsible for Just Around The Corner, the now defunct Finchley Road restaurant without prices, where customers paid what they felt the chef deserved. This welfare-ist approach to dining out continues at Little Bay, as our meal comes to a grand total of £21.


Official All In London review for Little Bay Restaurant

All In London User Reviews

Have you been to this restaurant? What did you think of it? Let us all know.

Add your review here | Little Bay Restaurant London, main page


User Rating: 9 / 10
TOBEOWEN
NewbieSince: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
View Profile
All In London User Recommended Business

I love this place, I go all the time. The food is lovely and great value for money. The interior is unlike any restaraunt I have been to before, it is full of private candle lit coves, perfect for a romantic meal out. But most importantly the staff here are always welcoming and friendly. They never have any problems reserving us a table and cannot do enough to be helpful on the night. Would most definitely reccomend it!


Added on Fri 24 Feb 2012 at 11:29:01
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 8 / 10
mowwykins
NewbieSince: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
View Profile

This restaurant is fantastic! The food is amazing and the prices are so cheap! I was very impressed with my experience at Little Bay. I really loved the decor, very funky and weird...good weird! I will definately be returning. The only thing I was disappointed with is that they don't take card payments. It's cash or cheque only and I unfortunately found this out at the end of the meal. Luckily a family member had some cash on them so make sure you take plenty of cash with you when you go there.


Added on Sun 16 Oct 2011 at 00:43:02
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 3 / 10
nice guy no problem
NewbieSince: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
View Profile

We visited Little Bay before but were disappointed by our recent visit, the service was less than adequate, the vegetables were overcooked and there were a lot of offencive drunken Australians. If this is your bag this is the place.


Added on Wed 29 Dec 2010 at 21:56:14
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,087
View Profile

Last Saturday, 19th December, I ate at this restaurant. The restaurant was full and I thought rather cramped. Even more cramped was my table although I wasn't uncomfortable, as luckily I don't eat with my elbows sticking out, and my seating partner was a family member. The food was very good and the price reasonable; the service also good. My only sadness was to see my plate come with water smears, which made me want to send the meal back, and did affect my enjoyment. The knife and fork reminded me of school (yes, I just about remember those days), but they just about managed to cut my mushroom. Thankfully the main course came with a steak knife. The wine glasses were not as clean as I would have expected from a restaurant that cared, so I drank quickly with my eyes shut. (and didn't point this out to my other guests). Would I eat here again??..No. Unless I can have smear free plates and clean glasses, with a proper knife and fork for starters.

Overall. 10% for Good food, 9% for good service, 6% for the unacceptable plates, cutlery and glasses. Decor wasn't to my taste but ok for a restaurant.


Added on Mon 21 Dec 2009 at 12:45:51
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,087
View Profile

A very excellent place to dine. I love the decore and the food as well as the atmosphere. One of my favourite places to go in London. Cest bon!!!!!


Added on Sun 22 Feb 2009 at 16:09:05
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 10 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,087
View Profile

I ate there every sunday for about three years either by myself, family and friends. This is the best for evey taste and budget and the food is excellent - and thats coming from me - a chef! Try it and if you dont like it, Mc Donalds will always take you back!.........bon appetite

ej


Added on Thu 05 Feb 2009 at 10:59:32
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,087
View Profile

Little Bay is value for money, delicious food and tasty deserts. The decor is quirky but very cosy and the service was good. On my list of value for money favourites....


Added on Tue 11 Nov 2008 at 16:12:20
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
Sooz
London Superstar
Since: Jan 2006
Posts: 937
View Profile

This has an amazing interior - really different and fun, with some seating on 'stilts' above other tables below...cosy is the word! I also can't get over the prices - absolutely amazing value with really well-presented and good quality dishes at literally half the price you'd expect to pay. Mains are around £6 and starters £3 or so...fabulous and well worth going back.


Added on Tue 26 Aug 2008 at 21:15:44
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 8 / 10
G2
NewbieSince: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
View Profile

We visited Little Bay in Kilburn a couple of weeks ago and the food and service was excellent. The decor is very interesting, quirky and fun. The food was very fresh, fragrant and inventive and also very well priced. I would definitely recommend going to Little Bay in Kilburn for any type of occasion.


Added on Thu 09 Aug 2007 at 18:43:51
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 5 / 10
TheMog
London A-List
Since: Jun 2004
Posts: 777
View Profile

Had a meal here last night. The restaurant is quite small and some of the seating is quite cramped (or cosy). The food is really very good, the menu has plenty to choose from and the quality and presentation of all of the meals we ordered was very good. I'd be happy to pay London prices for meals here, but that's the nice surprise, it's actually very cheap considering the quality of the food.


Added on Thu 06 Jul 2006 at 14:02:39
[report this][respond]





Please note: The views and opinions expressed in user comments are not necessarily those of All In London. If any of the views expressed here are offensive and you would like them removed please click here to tell us about it.

Guide to All In London Ratings

10/10Absolutely Superb
9/10Excellent / Highly Recommended
8/10Will go again
7/10Would go again
6/10Better than average
5/10Average
4/10Below average
3/10Poor
2/10Very poor
1/10Avoid
 






Disclaimer & Updates

Please check with Little Bay Restaurant before visiting, if you know the details are incorrect please tell us using the links below.

Update
Name, address, telephone, category, nearest station
Add more information
Description, opening hours, pictures, offers, events