Wed 23rd Apr
Home > Restaurants Home > Bar Solo > User Review

Bar Solo Reviews

Inverness Street Market, 20 Inverness Street, London


Telephone
020 7482 4611
Address
20 Inverness Street
London
NW1 7HJ




The All In London Review

"Booze-soaking grub that’s skilfully prepared and keenly priced"

All In London Rating: 7 / 10
Added Fri 22 Jun 2012 - Reviewed by Leila


In all honesty, we’re not expecting the food at Bar Solo to be much cop. It’s a bar with a daily happy hour, so it seems more likely that people flock here to get pished rather than feast on gourmet food. Tables are arranged facing a stage, jazz club style, so you can sit and watch live bands; in this instance a covers band that prevents us from hearing ourselves or the waitress. As they launch into ‘Wonderwall’ we reach for the drinks list, to find there are only four choices of wine, none of them particularly exciting.

But then the food arrives: chicken liver pate, homemade and served at room temperature, rich and delicious with a chunky spiced apricot chutney reminiscent of marmalade. Sticky barbecued ribs are flavoursome and meaty, with a sweet glaze that coats the juicy pork without masking it.

The lamb steak, served medium rare, is very good, with dollops of tzatziki and a Greek salad with creamy hunks of feta cheese. A generous mixed meat platter has well-seasoned beef kofta, a chicken breast covered in a deliciously piquant Cajun rub, more pork ribs, and fat hand-cut chips. The various meats have been optimally cooked; the kofta is lightly crispy on the outside, the chicken and ribs are tender, all sharing the aroma of the chargrill.

Dessert doesn’t disappoint either, a baked lemon cheesecake with walnuts in the biscuit base is fantastic.

Bar Solo has a savvy kitchen, serving hearty booze-soaking grub, skilfully prepared and very keenly priced; starters are around a fiver and the most expensive main is a rib eye steak at £12.50. And well, the happy hour is just a bonus.


Official All In London review for Bar Solo

All In London User Reviews

Have you been to this restaurant? What did you think of it? Let us all know.

Add your review here | Bar Solo London, main page


User Rating: 6 / 10
Mole2theFloor
NewbieSince: Aug 2013
Posts: 55
View Profile

Came here for brunch as we had previously been impressed with their food. Unfortunately the eggs Royale were disappointing, the hollandaise was cloggy as it had been reheated, and instead of muffins they'd used sweet brioche which didn't work at all. The full English was good though, and the waitress handled the demanding customers on either side of us really well.


Added on Fri 14 Mar 2014 at 12:31:53
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 8 / 10
Mr Benn
NewbieSince: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
View Profile
All In London User Recommended Business

First time there on Thursday at Guinea Club and saw a bendy man and a brilliantFemale impersonator ,burlesque, and a great vocalist made even better when i was told about Happy Hour ...cannot recommend enough


Added on Wed 15 Aug 2012 at 11:39:11
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 8 / 10
PeterG
NewbieSince: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
View Profile
All In London User Recommended Business

First time to Bar Solo last night. I had booked a table prior to the visit. Eugene, who made the booking was very friendly and created a good firds impression of customer service standards. The evening was excellent. Drinks and food were good value - Happy Hour finishes at nine! There was live music


Added on Sun 17 Jun 2012 at 20:57:12
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 9 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,124
View Profile

I went to Solo with three friends last wednesday evening. We were expecting live music and it was all we had hoped for. Nice cool jazz with two different singers. Both lovely. Not loud and intrusive so we still felt able to chat.
We had a very nice meal and the place was really busy. Because of the music they had a special menu of two courses for only ten quid, so it didnt break the bank.
Thank goodness my friend booked as they were turning people away at the door and even the bar area was packed out. There was a party of about fourteen people for somebody's birthday (the whole bar sang happy birthday to her). I think it must have been prearranged because the birthday girl got up and sung a few songs. She was really good too, she must be a singer. Having a large party there did make it a bit noisy but we could still hear ok. The staff were rushed off their feet but stayed cheerful and helpful even though very busy.
We will definitely go back because we like jazz and I think they also have other kinds of music on a different evening, might catch that one day too.


Added on Sun 22 Feb 2009 at 18:01:03
[report this][respond]


User Rating: 10 / 10
A Customer
NewbieSince: Sep 2006
Posts: 33,124
View Profile

bar solo is the place to be for a unique dining experience. i was in camden town visiting my father and stayed with him for a week. whilst on visit, both of us went to all top 10 stated diners in town and bar solo came out on top. i usually dont write reviews but i was so impressed with the high standard and good, fast and efficient service and friendly staff that i decided to write a review on it. i am currently on a train travelling back to edinburough as my 7 days are up there.even though i had to wait 10 minutes with my father outside as we wanted a window seat and the place was packed, it was okay becuase the staff keep every waiting customer amused by engaging in interesting conversation. after a visit there (at 6pm) i can safely sum up that bar solo is the place to be if your looking for an exciting night out with spontaneous staff and quick efficient service. even the food and beverages made me have a bigger grin than a chesire cat when it was delivered to the table.

overall, delicimo!! and bon a petit!!!


Added on Thu 02 Oct 2008 at 22:45:09
[report this][respond]





Please note: The views and opinions expressed in user comments are not necessarily those of All In London. If any of the views expressed here are offensive and you would like them removed please click here to tell us about it.

Guide to All In London Ratings

10/10Absolutely Superb
9/10Excellent / Highly Recommended
8/10Will go again
7/10Would go again
6/10Better than average
5/10Average
4/10Below average
3/10Poor
2/10Very poor
1/10Avoid
 






Disclaimer & Updates

Please check with Bar Solo before visiting, if you know the details are incorrect please tell us using the links below.

Update
Name, address, telephone, category, nearest station
Add more information
Description, opening hours, pictures, offers, events