The Charles Dickens Museum is situated at 48 Doughty Street. The house on Doughty Street is where Dickens lived from 1837 and was his residence during the completion of Nicholas Nickleby, Oliver Twist and the Pickwick Papers.
The house was is danger of being demolished in 1923 but the building was saved by the Dickens Fellowship, the same group that runs the museum today.
The dining room on the first floor was the site of many dinner parties which were attended by many of London’s literary elite. In the morning room is a bust of Dickens created by Angus Fletcher.
The drawing room on the first floor has been refurbished to the state it was during Dickens residence- lilac walls and plum furniture have been recreated from documents and paint samples found in the room.
Also on the second floor is the small study that is believed to be the room that Dickens used to write. The desk that Dickens used at the time of his death can be viewed here.
On the second floor are Dickens bedroom and the room where his sister-in-law Mary Hogarth died shortly after they had arrived in the house. A letter by Mary is on display, as are numerous theatre related documents and memorabilia. The halls and rooms of the house are hung with paintings, documents and various pieces of Art.
Charles Dickens works have shaped so many readers' concepts of London and the museum gives visitors a unique insight into the author’s environment.