Roll and Rems Ltd

Lewisham High Street, London

Roll and Rems Ltd
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
7/10 from 17 user reviews
We are an All In London Recommended Business
12
users have recommended this business
Roll and Rems Ltd, exterior picture

Ad
Address:111 Lewisham High Street, Lewisham
London, SE13 6AT
Map:Map & nearby
Region:Lewisham
Nearest Station:Lewisham
Category:Fabric Shops
Telephone:
Opening Hours:

Mon - Sat: 9.00 a.m. - 5.15 p.m.
Sunday: 11.00 a.m. - 2.45 p.m.


Related Businesses

Nearby alternatives

  1. Mr Fabric (0.0 miles)
    Lewisham High Street, Lewisham, SE13 6AT
  2. Sakhi Fabric (0.0 miles)
    Lewisham High Street, Lewisham, SE13 5JH
  3. Lux Fabrics (0.9 miles)
    Burnt Ash Road, Lee, SE12 8PZ


The Latest User Reviews of Roll and Rems Ltd


User Rating: 3 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
Emily, Peckham
Added: Mar 2017
Hello, this place has an amazing selection of fabrics. However, every time I have been in there a member of staff has been rude to me. I put my fabric down in the wrong spot and they rudely spoke to me. Then they wouldn't let me look at the fabric once they had cut it to size. They were cross with everything I did. I tried being polite but it seemed to annoy them more. Reading other reviews has shown me it is not just me who experiences this rudeness. It feels like it is a different member of staff each time I go there.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Denise Walton, Ipswich
Added: May 2016
All In London User Recommended Business
I'm from way out of town,staff were extremely helpful,friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. Fabulous stock range a dying breed unfortunately.I hope to do business with them again.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Mrs Ross, Romford
Added: Sep 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
My friend recommended rolls and rems as I was looking for a good fabric shop. I am so glad she did - this shop on entering seemed to give me everything I was looking for - wonderful basket of remnants - and an amazing range of fabrics and trimmings - the staff were very knowledgable and exceptionally nice and friendly - you don't find this kind of service very often - I would definitely shop here again in the future - watch out john lewis you have a great rival here

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
emily, devon
Added: Sep 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
Rolls and rems is a fantastic fabric shop which is packed with so many different fabrics. I moved away from London a few years ago. I was in London the other week and visiting rolls and rems was a must. And I am pleased to say that in my experience the staff are much better than they used to be, a guy and a girl served me at the cutting table and they worked together to help me find what I needed. Great shop!!!!!!!

User Rating: 9 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no star
sarah, south london
Added: Sep 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
I love rolls and rems it’s a great fabric shop there is so much choice. They have lots of trims and haberdashery bits as well as beautiful fabrics.
I have to agree unfortunately that the staff can be quite rude and moody and the manager needs to have a staff meeting concerning customer service. However there have been a couple of new faces recently who are very helpful and friendly.

User Rating: 9 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no star
Jo, New Cross
Added: Aug 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
I've visited this shop several times and have always been happy with the service. It's extremely busy - you queue to have fabric cut, then you queue again to pay and get jostled a bit in the crowded shop, but it is worth it. Great fabric range, with good quality material at low prices. The sales assistants have advised me on my purchases and seemed knowledgeable.

The rating for this review is no longer counted due to a response being added, see below for the official response.


Lianne, Greenwich
Added: Aug 2014
The service is appalling- long queues and hesitance to help you!! I'm looking for an alternative as we speak! The cashier was chewing whilst serving (talk about first impressions) and god forbid you ask them any questions!! The only thing that gives this a score of one is that there seems to be a decent selection of fabric but the place is so small and dingy, I'm not surprised the staff are so unaccomodating! Never again!

This comment has an official response:

Thankyou for taking the time to send in your review. All reviews are welcome whether good or bad.
I regret that you found your experience of shopping at our store an unhappy one. Since i read your review we have had a staff meeting and hopefully have addressed some of the problems that you encountered. The shop itself is actually very large and having such a large range of fabric is perhaps the reason you found it to give the impression of being small.

Although you have said that you will never shop here again i would hope that in time you might change your mind and if you do I would appreciate an email from you to let me know if you encounter the same problems or even different ones. if so please email me at janet.felby@gmail.com


From: j felby
Position: proprietor



The rating for this review is no longer counted due to a response being added, see below for the official response.


Marie, Lewsiham
Added: Aug 2014
Great selection of fabric.
Staff have, on some occasions being horrendously rude.
I am a regular at the shop, and in 2013 started to dread going due to customer service. In recent months I have had a smile and very helpful conversation with a new guy and girl on the cutting table, so I do hope the service is on the up.
In 2013 I heard two staff rudely laugh, swear and make fun of the a customer's fabric choice (after she just left the cutting table, still in the shop!) and be very cruel about how the finished product could look on her body. I was so appalled! They were very nasty.

This comment has an official response:

i have just read your email and was dismayed to hear that my staff had been rude. This is unacceptable and i am sorry that this happened
i am in the shop on a monday and wednesday and if you have the opportunity to call in please come and speak to me.

If this is not convenient you can contact me at janet.felby@gmail.com

I have spoken to the staff and this should not happen again.

Thankyou for bringing this matter to my attention.


From: j felby
Position: proprietorI



The rating for this review is no longer counted due to a response being added, see below for the official response.


Catia, London
Added: Aug 2014
Very disappointed with staff help. Travelled a long journey has was told by friends about the shop but will never bother again awful service by staff . It's a shame to have staff working like this in a such good store when there are so many unemployed nice people out there looking for jobs. Will never return and will let everyone I know about the bad service I got from lazy staff.

This comment has an official response:

i am sorry that you travelled a long way only to be disappointed when you finally got to our store.

Generally we have not had complaints about the staff being lazy so if you have the time and could let me know what day you called in to the store i can try to sort the problem out.
This would be of an enourmous help to me in trying to address the situation
my email address is janet.felby@gmail.com

Thankyou


From: j felby
Position: proprietor



User Rating: 7 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
Barbara Murphy, London
Added: Jul 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
I hadn't heard anything negative when I visited the shop as people had recommended it for the huge selection and value of fabrics. I was blown away and perhaps a bit overwhelmed when I did visit. I'd previously decided upon the fabric that I wanted but, having limited mobility, I needed to ask a member of staff to help me. The assistant was extremely helpful and pleasant and was able to show me exactly where to find what I wanted. I feel the website could be more useful and, perhaps, employing more staff might be the answer to long waiting times maybe with staff working upstairs permanently.

User Rating: 8 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no star
LillyAyres
Newbie
Member since: Jul 2014
Posts: 0
View Profile
I was a bit skeptical to come to Rolls and Rems because I read bad comments about it, but I went today to Rolls and Rems and it was really nice! Such a good surprise.
The store has a huge selection of fabric with a very good prices, the front box have good and cheap fabric
It's a busy store, people is coming in and out, maybe that's why the staff looks busy, but they were helpful and nice and they treated me good.
You won't notice the time if you're concentrated with their beautiful fabrics.
My only suggestion to them is to improve their website :)

User Rating: 6 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
C, Williams
Added: Jan 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
After reading the previous reviews, I have to agree that the staff are incredibly moody. There are a few who if you catch on a good day are quite pleasant, but the majority are far from. They will point you in the right direction of the product you're looking for and I've seen them give help/ advice to others, however you do get the sense they do it begrudgingly. It doesn't make you too inclined to ask for help.

On the other hand though, they do stock a good selection of fabrics and trimmings. You can find what you need. They also sell patterns, which is handy info if you were unaware.

The rating for this review is no longer counted due to a response being added, see below for the official response.


Toni I, SE London
Added: Sep 2013
Appalling service, went to the shop today to buy fabric. Was sent to the second floor. Then waited for half an hour for some one to be free. Then the lady handed me a roll of fabric to take it downstairs to be cut by some one else as she was busy!! Its was heavy, what about health and safety? Do they expect their shoppers to lug heavy rolls of fabric around their shop. Will never visit again. Off to John Lewis tomorrow. Bye bye silly local shop. There is a reason you dont survive for long!!

This comment has an official response:

I was very concerned to read the review from this customer and apologise for the wait she had.
We endeavour to help each customer and as such often have to spend quite a while with each This can lead to a wait for the next customer.
Buying fabric is not like buying a single item of clothing, colours have to be matched and lengths decided.
If a customer is on the second floor the staff will say that if the customer is able it may be quicker to take the fabric downstairs to the ground floor where there are more staff. We do not expect customers to carry heavy rolls.
We have been established in lewisham for 26 years and have managed to survive so far and hope to continue to do so.
If the customer would like to call in to the shop on either a monday or wednesday I would be happy to meet her and to make her experience of shopping in Rolls and Rems a pleasant one.


From: jan
Position: proprietor



User Rating: 2 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
sandra, newcrossgate
Added: Sep 2013
All In London User Recommended Business
It's a very good shop in terms of fabric choices. However some of the staff could be really awfully rude. I have been buying fabrics from them for the past 5 years as I'm simply in love with their fabrics. There were times I promised myself not to walk in there ever again after I came out. Sadly this isn't just my feeling. I have heard lots of other customers talking about the 'staff' and for seeing the reviews about the same concern, I wanted to say that they are absolutely true. I would like the management to train their staff to improve their attitude.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Caroline, Lewisham
Added: Aug 2013
All In London User Recommended Business
Rolls and Rems is a fantastic shop and I feel very lucky to live within walking distance. Their range of fabrics is amazing and goes from cheap and cheerful to some gorgeous high end wools. The furnishing fabrics are more limited but I've found gems there too. I think the shop has a great atmosphere: it's really busy but the staff have always been very helpful when I've had questions. Can't recommend highly enough.

This comment has an official response:

thankyou for taking the time to post a comment and for shopping in Rolls and Rems
it is really gratifying to read a positive review from a customer.


From: jan
Position: proprietor



User Rating: 7 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
carole, south east london
Added: Jan 2013
All In London User Recommended Business
I think this lady must have had a bad experience which is a shame for her. Maybe the shop was very busy at the time (which it quite often is) I have shopped here for many years and find the choice of fabrics and competitive prices make it first on my list of where to go when I want any kind of fabric. Hopefully Denise will give it another go at some point in the future

Name: carole
Location: south east london

User Rating: 5 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
Denise, South east london
Added: May 2012
All In London User Recommended Business
Poor customer service.... I must agree but otherwise great shop loads of fabrics to choose from n u always find what your looking for....
Need to improve on their customer service seriously no joke

Name: Denise
Location: South east london

User Rating: 2 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
TETL
Newbie
Member since: Oct 2011
Posts: 0
View Profile
Sorry, but going to have to agree with the other two. This shop has awful customer service. I don't feel too comfortable asking them questions in case they look at me in annoyance. That's the vibe I get from them: that they don't want to help the customers.

One of them--don't know if she's the owner or not because there seems to be so many faces--was so rude to the customers the other day! She had locked the doors for closing and started making 'swatting/shooing' gestures with her hands at anyone who came towards the door. I don't think I'll be returning. They need to be friendlier; a smile to a novice fabric shopper goes a long way.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Sue Martin
Newbie
Member since: Sep 2011
Posts: 0
View Profile
All In London User Recommended Business
I love Rolls & Rems. It has a character all of it's own. I have been a customer for several years now, so I found the previous comment about staff rather baffling. I find them to be a helpful and friendly team. They, endeavour to offer personal care when they are serving individual customers, while at the same being constantly interrupted with enquiries and under those circumstances, I find them to be incredibly patient. My advice to those wanting to get the best out of Lewisham's 'little gem' is to give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the experience. Don't treat it like a supermarket where you are rushed in and out. If it is busy, wait your turn, browse the beautiful buttons, ribbons, prints and silks etc. You will always be taken seriously when asking a technical question no matter how trivial it may seem. I have learned so much from the expertise of the staff.
Sue Martin...New Cross

User Rating: 1 / 10
star rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
Liis
Newbie
Member since: Dec 2010
Posts: 0
View Profile
I have been there several times for fabric and every time there is this moody atmosphere in the shop. The staff talk loud about things that are not meant to be discussed infront of clients. They are always either rude or moody. They are never helpful if you ask something. They don't even know what some materials are called. I found another shop in the same area that is tiny but at least the owner is always friendly and recognises your face :) and the other shop is cheaper!!!

User Rating: 5 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no starstar rating no star
A Customer
Newbie
Member since: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
View Profile
I find most of the staff so moody!!...Theres a few that are nice and the manager is very nice helpful and kind. But its a shame that the moody unfriendly stuff give the place a bad name. My advise to the manager would be to blits the the dam place keep the best stuff and get rid of the moody ones.

Reviews & Tips from our readers

What's New?

AIL on Social Media

Facebook logo Twitter logo Instagram logo