This park was originally created in the 1770s for the Earl of Derby, who lived on the grounds. The park was used by him and members of his family for horse racing, hence naming one of the Epsom races the “Derby”. While his former home was torn down in 1956, many other buildings remain, such as the stables and the greenhouse. The park’s combination of woodland, grassland and horticultural grounds make it popular with nature lovers, dog-walkers, and those who just fancy a breath of fresh air. There is also a golf course and a sports centre which has a climbing wall and makeshift cave centre. There is a café serving drinks and light meals, and a number of artists’ studios operate on the premises, giving local artists the chance to showcase their work. Regular guided walks take place and the council even runs an orienteering course here.