Ranger’s House is on the edge of Greenwich Park, a favourite green space of Londoners for a day out. The building is home to the remarkable Wernher Collection, which comprises 700 artworks collected in the 19th century by a diamond magnate called Sir Julius Wernher. The collection includes paintings by the Dutch Masters, Renaissance-era bronze statues, enamel by Limoges, jewellery, pottery and antique furniture – in short, it’s one of the most fascinating collections of early European art to be accumulated by one individual.
The Georgian building itself was built in the 1720 as a grand residence for aristocrats. It later became home to the park’s rangers, giving it its name. Nowadays it is managed by English Heritage.