The Laughing Halibut Review

38 Strutton Ground Westminster SW1P 2HR


All In London User Reviews of The Laughing Halibut

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
coolforcats
Newbie
Member since: Mar 2015
Posts: 0
View Profile
All In London User Recommended Business
One of the best fish and chip shops in London. Seats , good service , and freshly fried so not sitting there a long time as in some bad London chippies. Been going here for years , one of my two best chippies in London. And they always chat , and always recognise me.
and check out Discount Shoes opp for discount quality shoes - and in half sizes.

User Rating: 9 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating no star
Marc, Vauxhall
Added: Jun 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
Best chippy I have found in London (and I've tried a LOT of chippies)....it's best to sit down and enjoy them fresh in the restaurant if you can!!!

The fish and chips are comparable with the chip shops you find in the North of England and also the South West (Cornwall,Devon) so that means they are very good.

Only criticism: the curry sauce is not up to scratch (unless you like it very watery) and no cans of Vimto!!!

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Zsofia, Hungary
Added: Jun 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
The best Fish and Chips I ever had. No pub or restaurant can ever beat the fried cod!So soo delicious!

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
N Mac, Cheltenham
Added: Jan 2014
All In London User Recommended Business
When I worked in Victoria a couple of years ago I used to pop in here for chips on the way down to Vauxhall Station.

Chips as an art form. Fantastic.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Tony Doran, Westminster
Added: Jul 2013
All In London User Recommended Business
There are very few traditional fish and chip shops left in London.
This one is the best by far

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Keith Faustel, Hagaman, New York
Added: Jul 2013
All In London User Recommended Business
Stopped here for dinner on our first night in London. One of the friendliest staff with the best chatter and most efficient service we've ever had anywhere!!! And the fish was good too. Lots of it with good hot chips and a brown sauce to go with it that was better than the malt vinegar (got to find out what that was). We'll go here again if we get back to London, These folks do it right!

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
Rona Fisher, Brisbane, Australia
Added: Dec 2012
All In London User Recommended Business
My daughter and I were in England in October and November this year 2012. We asked a friendly Policeman where a good fish and chip shop was and he suggested this spot. We absolutely loved it and visited it about 4 times whilst in London. My favourite was chips and egg!! Friendly, cheerful staff and the best meals. Try them, you won't be disappointed. We're from Brisbane in Australia - nothing like that here.

Name: Rona Fisher
Location: Brisbane, Australia

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
A Customer
Newbie
Member since: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
View Profile
I have never posted one of these reviews but must - this is the very best fish and chips place in the world! I moved to London two years ago from the US and have done much traveling, but have never had such delicious fish and chips. Often one or the other is really good - but here both are equally good. They provide huge portions and quick, friendly service. And right in the heart of Westminster on little Strutton Ground! The only complaint I ever have is that they are not open late or on Sundays - but I understand why and am happy they take some time off. I simply plan my trips around their hours! I am moving home soon and wish I could bring them with me. I know I won't find anything this good (in food quality and service) in the US, even though I return to the East Coast with great sea food.

User Rating: 10 / 10
star rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one starstar rating one star
A Customer
Newbie
Member since: Sep 2006
Posts: 0
View Profile
At last, here it is, the jewel-in-the crown of fish and chip shops, The Laughing Halibut is truly first for food and service, located deep in Strutton Ground Westminster, this restaurant simply can't be beat for that traditional style and character you expect from a by-gone age. There is always queues formed outside waiting to be served the most delicious of good ol' fish n'chips, plus an array of other tasty pies and snacks. I recommend their chips to anyone, they are soooooo tasty, but don't just take my word for it, go-on, grab yourself a feast!!!!!
Signed
A Very
Happy customer.

Add your own review

Have you used this business? Let everyone know what you thought of it.






Please note: The views and opinions expressed in user comments are not necessarily those of All In London. If any of the views expressed here are offensive and you would like them removed please click here to tell us about it.

Guide to All In London Ratings

10/10Absolutely Superb
9/10Excellent / Highly Recommended
8/10Will go again
7/10Would go again
6/10Better than average
5/10Average
4/10Below average
3/10Poor
2/10Very poor
1/10Avoid
 

AIL on Social Media

Facebook logo Twitter logo Instagram logo

What's New?