Tavistock Dental

16 Tavistock Place, London
Tavistock Dental image

16 Tavistock Place, Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 9RU

020 7837 5638



Nearest Station
Russell Square (0.17 miles)


Opening Summary

Monday 7.30am-5.30pm
Tuesday 7.30am-7pm
Wednesday 8.30am-5.30pm
Thursday 8.30am-7pm
Friday 8.30am - 5pm
Saturday appointments also available

-Central London location
-Same day emergency dental treatment
-Dental implant treatment
-Cosmetic and general dentistry
-Early morning / late evening and Saturdar appointments available

User Reviews

Reviewed by G.Host
Have been here as an NHS patient since it was Khambalia through two changes of owner. I was happy with the service and recommended it to others. I had one white filling replaced competently with no lies about white fillings not being available on the NHS and my teeth were properly cleaned on every visit.

Two visits under the ghastly new owners and I will never go there again. I had watched the Dispatches programme on how dentists offer NHS treatment then run through a script to persuade patients to part with their money by telling them treatments are either not available or will be done incompetently. The new owner was script perfect. At least on the first visit he pretended to clean my teeth or at least he scraped my teeth and gums. It's the only time in my life a dentist has hurt me cleaning my teeth. On the second visit all he could do was offer me an appointment with a hygienist at some vastly exaggerated price. He also gave me the root canal story and recommended his private root canal specialist at nearly £500.

I won't be going a third time.

Apr 12, 2012

Reply from Arjinder S. Chohan Principal Dentist
Dear G. Host

We are sorry to hear about your experience. All clinically necessary treatment is offered on the NHS. If you feel this is not the case, we have a procedure in place where you can raise your concerns directly with us. We find this achieves more than a random review online of which we have no idea who the person is. We will try our best to address your concerns.

If cleaning is uncomfortable it is normally due to large deposits of hardened food and bacteria (that have built up over a long period due to inadequate toothbrushing and flossing) being removed. Leaving these deposits may cause gum disease.

It is unrealistic and unfair to judge an entire profession from one TV programme. Our dentists treat all patients to the highest clinical and ethical standards. We have no interest in or time for lies, scripts or stories. We are sorry you feel this way and if you contact the practice, we can remove you from our list.

May 2, 2012

Reviewed by bumbleebee
My husband and I both joined as NHS customers. Unfortunately from day 1 we had to shell out more money than we wanted.

Firstly after a checkup, I was told to have a 'polish' with their private hygienist for about £50. Asking if they couldn't do this on NHS I was showed a picture of horridly rotting teeth and told that the NHS only covers it if your teeth looked like that! (Which I find very hard to believe).

Believing that the health of my teeth depended on it, I was pressurised into shelling out for the private hygienist.

Secondly, my husband went for his checkup and they told him he had to get a root canal for about £500! The dentist didn't 'recommend' the NHS one (which was substantially cheaper) as his professional business was 'much more qualified' - surely it would be the same person doing it?!

My husband went to his old private dentist who recommended having the tooth pulled - if my husband did insist on having the root canal it would have cost only £200!

We've now left this dentist as at every opportunity they tried to get more money out of you and recommended going private. I've looked into lodging a formal complaint with the NHS but unfortunately the process is so complex that I've resigned myself to leaving feedback online.

Jan 31, 2012

Reply from Arjinder S. Chohan Principal Dentist
Dear Bumblebee

We are sorry to hear that you felt you had to leave our practice. Some elements of your feedback are complete opinion so we do not wish to enter into ‘verbal tennis’. We can offer comment on some parts of your feedback.

The NHS offers any treatment that is clinically necessary. This does not mean all our services at the practice are available on the NHS.

It is the duty of our dentists (as with all health professionals) to offer patients all possible treatment options whether you are a NHS or private patient. The final decision is always down to the patient whether they proceed with treatment. With regards to root canal treatment, the ‘£500 root canal’ would not be carried out by the general dentist you saw. It would be carried out by another dentist who has a special interest in root canal treatment. He has undergone a higher level of training meaning he is more able than a general dentist. Without boring you with jargon, the fee charged accounts for use of a Carl Zeiss microscope, rotary instruments and specialised heated system to fill the root canals of the tooth. The best quality materials and equipment are used to ensure success rates are as high as possible. It is important to note you said the NHS root canal treatment option with the general dentist was also given. Your husband was free to make a choice.

Some dentists find it easier to take teeth out. At our practice we will always try our best to save teeth, which is what most patients would appreciate.

Our practice has a very simple complaints / feedback procedure. A single letter /email is all that is required to lodge your concerns. This is far easier and less time consuming than registering and then posting your review on Yelp, All in London and Qype etc.

Our practice has been serving patients for over 80 years and we like to think we do a good job on the whole. We appreciate, we have room to improve so thank you for raising your concerns

May 2, 2012

Have your say

Add a review or useful tip for this business

Add a review Add a useful tip

The Nearest Alternatives

Greg Gossayn

71 Marchmont Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1RE

0.05 miles from here

Travers Dental Practice

96 Marchmont Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1AG

0.09 miles from here

Russell Court Dental Practice

22 Woburn Place, Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 0LH

0.14 miles from here

Sign up for the latest
Sign up to our newsletter for the latest and greatest from London!
By entering your email address you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and consent to receive email updates and newsletters from All In London. You can unsubscribe at any time.