Dr Johnson's House

Museum in St Paul's
Dr Johnson's House image
17 Gough Square, St Paul's, EC4A 3DE
0207 353 3745
St Paul's
Nearest Station
City Thameslink
0.20 miles
Opening Summary

Currently closed during due to COVID shutdown. 

Built in 1700, Dr. Johnson's House used to be the home of 18th century writer Samuel Johnson. It is situated at 17 Gough Square, a small pedestrianised court north off Fleet Street.

From 1748 to 1759, Johnson lived here as is where he compiled his best-known work, ‘A Dictionary of the English Language’. In the 19th century the house was used as a hotel, a print shop and a storehouse until in 1911, a Member of Parliament named Cecil Harmsworth, bought it and restored it. A year later he opened it to the public. During the Second World War, there were three occasions when Dr. Johnson’s House was nearly destroyed but it was saved by the Auxiliary Fire Service, who, at the time, used the House as a place to have a rest as well as an arts club.

Today, Gough House is managed by a charitable trust and visitors can have a look at many of the original features: paneled rooms, the pine staircase, and a collection of period furniture, prints and portraits. Also, Johnson's life and work is exhibited.

Dr Johnson's House is open to the public throughout the year, from Monday to Saturday but is closed on Sundays and bank holidays.

Dr Johnson's House Picture Gallery

Dr Johnson's House Picture

Things to Try

Visit the home of London's most famous raconteur picture

Visit the home of London's most famous raconteur

Dr Samuel Johnson, no less
Read more

User Reviews

There are no user reviews