About: Built in 1710 for James Johnston (the Secretary of State for Scotland of the day) Orleans House was named after its most famous resident, Louis Phillippe, Duc D'Orleans, who lived there in exile between 1813-15. The main gallery hosts five temporary exhibitions each year – the types of exhibitions ranging from historical to contemporary art exhibitions, attracting over 56,000 visitors per year.
Orleans House Gallery is Richmond's principle collection of art.The 19th century stables buildings and stages house the Stables Gallery which is host to around seven contemporary and community exhibitions a year. The collections include Archives, Costume and Textiles, Fine Art and Photography.
A beautiful historic building overlooking the Thames and next to tranquil woodland. Free entry to the stunning Gibbs Octagon Room and 2 galleries - plus a display on the history of the site in the lovely cafe.
The current Madge Gill exhibition is not to be missed!