Erato Orchestra Concert

St. Mark's Church, Woodcote, Church Road, Purley,
Erato Orchestra Concert image
Event has ended
This event ended on Saturday 25th of May 2024
Admission by Programme £14.00 at the door.
Senior citizens £12.00; Students £9.00
Ordinary members £10.00 - senior citizen members £8.00
Student members and children of school age – FREE

St. Mark's Church, Woodcote, Church Road, Purley,

Nearest Tube/Rail Stations
Purley 0.91 miles

The Othello Suite composed by local resident Samuel Coleridge-Taylor was arranged in 2020 by George Morton which means the Erato Orchestra will be performing this work relatively hot off the presses. Romance was in the air when Clara Wieck-Schumann wrote Op.11 for the piano in 1840 at the age of 21 in the year of her marriage to Robert Schumann. She was a fine composer in her own right and Ian Butterworth’s arrangement for strings completed in 2022 will surely be entrancing as, having conducted the Erato Orchestra for many years and being a string player himself, he knows exactly how to show off the Erato’s string sections in their most romantic light.

These two recent arrangements of works by famous composers which will largely be unknown to most people feature alongside two absolute favourite classical works by Mozart, his 40th Symphony and Horn Concerto No.3. Martin Grainger of the London Mozart Players will be this evening’s soloist.
Othello Suite (arr. George Morton) - COLERIDGE-TAYLOR
Horn Concerto No.3 in E flat, K.447 - MOZART
Romance Op.11, No.1 for strings - CLARA WIECK-SCHUMANN (arr. Ian Butterworth)
Symphony No.40 in G Minor, K.550 - MOZART
Martin Grainger - horn
Jonathan Regan – conductor
A South London concert close to Croydon, Sutton, Carshalton, Coulsdon and Redhill.
Easy parking
Visit the next concert page on the website for a flyer or else download the image from this page.

Tags: Music

User Reviews

There are no user reviews